TIF Commission

The MU Gateway Tax Increment Financing Commission was established in response to a TIF  request for a redevelopment project at Olive Blvd and I-170 (MU Gateway). 

In December of 2015 the City released a "Request for Proposals" for redevelopment of the 12+ acre area known as the MU Gateway.  Four proposals were received and in April of 2016 the Olivette City Council named Keat Properties as the preferred developer. 

At that time Olivette Mayor Ruth Springer said, “The City is excited to partner with Greg Yawitz (Managing Partner of Keat Properties LLC) on this very important development.” The City previously worked with Keat Properties on the 4-acre mixed-use Shoppes at Price Crossing development at 9200 Olive Boulevard.  Mayor Springer continued, “The success at Price Crossing, coupled with Greg’s track record of working collaboratively with Olivette citizens, Council, and staff made him the best choice for this development.”

The City first envisioned the 12-and-a-half acre redevelopment area as a single, comprehensive development in 1969.  Subsequent City strategic plans in 1991 and 2006 both identified the opportunity to assemble property to create a larger development.  However the complexities of assemblage, easements, utilities, and topography have all served to make redevelopment in the private market difficult.  It became clear that to have a successful development a public-private partnership would be required. 

In October 2016 the City Council established the MU Gateway TIF Commission.  Comprised of representatives from area taxing districts, the Commission held its first meeting on November 21. 

The TIF Commissioners review the Redevelopment Plan, the Blight Study, and the Cost Benefit Analysis to determine whether, "but for" the public partnership the redevelopment would be possible.  

A Public Hearing has been scheduled for January 9, 2017 at 7pm at the Olivette Community Center. 

TIF Commission Members
  • Richard Brophey, Chair
  • David Busker, Vice-Chair
  • Jeff Springer, Secretary
  • Thomas Curran
  • Dr. Nancy Goldstein
  • Margaret Hart-Mahon
  • Glenn Henninger
  • Sheldon Johnson
  • Thomas Malecek
  • Kristopher Mooney
  • Glenn Powers
  • Pamela Reitz